Until last night, I planned on running the Rye Derby today. The temperature for today was expected to reach 88, although it actually got to 91. I was still OK with it, until I read of someone dying at the Nashville Half-Marathon. Were the race in the morning, I probably would have tried it, but a 1:45 start meant discretion was the better part of valor. (The More Marathon in CP was canceled and the More Half-Marathon was turned into a fun run.)

So I planned on an easy longish run, to be followed by watching the London Marathon. In the event, however, I awoke at about 4:30 and rather than going back to sleep elected to watch the race on-line. I’ll just note that the race was not as exciting as in the last couple of years, especially with Ryan Hall’s absence, and link to the Science of Sport’s review.

So at about 7:30 I headed out. Temp was just under 80, and I headed up the BRP path I referred to yesterday. This was the first warm day of the year, and I take some acclimating. So I went out very slowly. I started to feel very good and flowing, almost effortless. But I still kept it slow, or so I thought. My Garmin had me at 7:10 pace or a bit faster. Turn around at 45 minutes at Scarsdale Station, where the Path ends, 6.25 miles.

I started to pick it up a bit heading home, and this was my mistake. Although the stride was there, I was getting warm and struggling. I hadn’t stopped for water (or for anything for that matter) and I was anxious to get home. So I struggled, not with my form but with being spent. I stopped with just over a mile to go and walked and jogged home. The jogging was a bit of a problem because my shorts had given me something of a rash. Ouch.

NY Marathon? I am at the cusp of having to decide whether to enter NY. Back on December 1 I wrote my thoughts. May 1 is decision date. I realize I can enter and withdraw, but I need to start thinking seriously on the subject. Do I run? Today’s run actually leans me towards it since it was extremely flowing and relaxed, although not as intense as Friday’s 7.75 mile barnburner. And I was energized by this LetsRun thread in which the consensus is that more miles are what are needed, a sentiment with which I agree.

We’ll see.

As an aside, I have long been a fan of the NYC Marathon and have vouched for how well it is run. But while watching London and seeing how narrow the streets were, I twittered (yes, there were others doing the same) that it could get awfully tight, and someone noted the same thing about NY. I realized that my view of NY is colored by my being able to run clear of any traffic after about 100 meters. Not so for the people behind. So I twittered back that unless you’re going relatively quickly, I don’t see NY as being a place to get a decent time, simply because of the crowds in the race. Same is liklely true for all big-city marathons. So I understand why people do them for the experience.

Twin Lakes Photos. I posted Rockies photos yesterday. Today I stopped down at my favorite trail, Twin Lakes/Nature Study. This is a County trail on which I started running back in 1971. It’s about 1.25 miles from my house so I often run to it, and I’ve done long runs, including a 20-miler there. Here are some photos of the Twin Lakes portion. It’s a popular bridle path (there are two stables nearby), but the horsemen are polite and appreciate runners being respectful of them. It’s also a popular Iona College running site.

South of Lake, Heading East

South of Lake, Heading East


The Hutchinson River Parkway is to the right.
Twin Lakes, East Side, Heading North

Twin Lakes, East Side, Heading North


The Lake:
One of the Twin Lakes

One of the Twin Lakes


And heading west, with the Lake to the right. This is just north of the photo that I use at the top of my page.
Twin Lakes, South of Lake, Heading West

Twin Lakes, South of Lake, Heading West