Monday’s intended short run was aborted because of a misbehaving contact lens on the trail. Tuesday’s speedwork by the school’s use of a zip-line and consequent closing of the track, although I did get in six decent repeat 200s, running fast for a change and not hurting.

Wednesday was over 5, but a struggle in high humidity. But then Thursday again showed how different one can feel from one day to the next with a relaxed six with the last three at 7:11, 7:10, and 6:57. And a day off on Friday.

The day off was in part for Saturday. My goal: 12, but I talked myself into thinking I’d be satisfied with 10. So I took it easy, and got to 12.6, without problems although a bit of fatigue for the last mile. The splits were quite even: 7:58, 7:38, 7:24, 7:14, 7:17, 7:23, 7:23, 7:24, 7:23, 7:21, 7:18, 7:09. Longest run in who-knows-how-long. (1:33:37.) It was boring, lap after lap of one of my Bronxville loops. But I find the repetition relaxing.

And Sunday. I had thought of doing the Westchester Half-Marathon along the Bronx River Parkway, but decided not to spring for the $70. So five laps plus an extra 1/2 mile at Twin Lakes. This too felt pretty solid, and mile 7 was 7:10 (and mile 8 7:22).

So, all-in-all another good week. About 40 miles (Strava undercounts and it had me at 39.7). I don’t want to do much more than that and want to cap my “long” run at 15.

I found a new race to try. $15 (“Senior”) for a 5K in Pelham on my birthday. While 5Ks hurt, I hope to give this one a try.

