It doesn’t seem like much. But it is what it is. It took quite a while to get over the strain I suffered on Leatherstocking in December. I was able, finally, to do a short run a few weeks back, but I died rather quickly and made it about 8 minutes. Since then I got it up to 17:30. Yes, the pace is probably too fast.

I felt I could give Twin Lakes a shot. The lap is about 1.6. So it was there I went. It was painful, and there was a time along the eastern edge, the part that runs along the Hutch, where I questioned whether I could make it around. That would have been a disaster. after crossing the dam, with about half-a-mile to go on the lap, I started to feel better. Still tired, but more a running tired than a blowing-up tired.

Through the lap and bolstered by knowing that there was a slight downhill to the wooden bridge. So I struggled and as soon as my watch hit 20 I stopped. Quite happy. And a nice walk to finish the lap.

It’s day by day. Maybe I’ll feel up to jumping into an April race, just for the fun of it. It is encouraging.

CAM01645

When I finish at Twin Lakes, I like to take a photo along the trail’s western side and post it as the Westchester Trails Facebook page. It gives a sense of the change-of-seasons and of course had not put up a new one for quite a while. So this one is similar to the last, taken after the leaves had gone, but it on the other side of winter. Things will only get greener. Sometimes I happened to have a runner come by. I didn’t see many while I was running, but I saw this one, who probably thought me a stalker. It gives a good sense of what the trail is like and it will fill in rather quickly as spring approaches.

 

