Not posting in a month is not a good sign. Alas, three weeks back, I dropped my wife off in Larchmont and stopped at Leatherstocking, since it was on the way back. Except for Paine-to-Pian, I’d not run on this trail for years. It was a bit of a schlep and it was too “technical” for my liking.

And so it was those weeks ago. I frequently found myself slowing or even stopping to get through rocky, uneven stretches. But I soldiered on and was completely spent when I turned after about 20 minutes. I was dead and stopped on the way back. So I walked and ran back south, finding the trail not well marked and stopping at one point with no idea how to go; I had become disoriented so I thought the houses I saw were to the left of the trail when they were to the right. (I also ran into a very unfriendly group of runners, something I’ve not encountered on any other trail.)

Anyhow, I ended up slipping on a rock with my left foot sliding down. Not good. I strained my tendon. I rested for a week and headed out on the next Sunday, feeling fine, including doing maybe 2 and a half on the track, clockwise. But I had a hard time walking on Monday. Last week, it started to hurt in the first half mile. So I’ve decided to let it heal. Maybe next week-end.

This won’t, I think, have much of a long-range impact, assuming I get over it presently, since I didn’t plan on racing until the Spring. But I truly miss being able to go our, especially since we’ve been having unseasonably warm temperatures.

So, January 3, 2016. No runs yet for the year.

