Yes, “race report”. Haven’t done one of those for a long time. In fact, I ran no races while I was 58 and only one in 2014. Now I’ve run one in 2015.

The M’neck Turkey Trot is a flat 5K. The course is a bit different from when I did it in 2011; it now starts and finishes in Harbor Island Park (as opposed to starting on Route 1). This eliminated a bit of a side-trip on the course itself.

Since my last post, I’ve not run as frequently as I might like, but my runs are starting to come together. Two weeks back, 40 minutes at Twin Lakes/Nature Study and last Sunday 45 minutes for 6 miles to Scarsdale Road and back, which used to be a basic course but now was a stretch. But it was a stretch made.

I decided to do M’neck because it’s a nice course and I hoped to see some of my SSRMC teammates. The club that took it over, New Ro Runners is a race sponsor although NYCRuns puts it on. I was glad to see Mark in the race, Tom (who ran) afterwards, and Greg and Gregg afterwards.

So I took out my Warren Street singlet (which I washed last week in anticipation) On Friday I ran a nice easy 30 minutes and it turned out to be 4.5 miles. So I was pumped about what I could do. I thought I could get under 21 but hoped to get sub-20. Of course, my mileage has been low and my speedwork non-existent. But you never know.

Until you’re on the course. I’m embarrassed to say that my optimistic mind-set did not matach my start position and I was one of those guys who is passed by a fair number after the horn. Sorry to those I blocked. And by the time we hit Route 1 — you come out of the park up a slight incline and turn left, with the water (the Sound) to the left — and I took a look at my Garmin I realized things were too rich for my blood. “6:14” I saw, and so I throttled it down a bit. I was able to avoid heavy breathing well through the one mile mark, which was 6:20. But I felt it.

From the 1.25 point on, I don’t think I was passed by anyone (ecept in the finish straight) and I picked off a fair number. By the time I hit Rote 1 again, though, I was hurting. It’s about 0.75 to the finish, flat. I just tried to hold it together. One turns back into the Park and that incline is a decline yet the expectations on the course that the finish will be a breeze quickly fades as I look and look to see where the finish is. Finally, there it is the “FINISH” in impossibly-small print. So far.

So I just push through and am dead. The time: 20:45. I check it on an AG table and it’s 76. Ouch.  Nearly 2 minutes slower than in 2011. But the race felt smoothly enough, and some of my recent workouts have been smooth enough, that with a bit more dedication and speedwork I can get back to where I should be.

This will be my only race of 2015.   I can allow things to build into the winter. And we’ll see where things go from there.

