Since my last report, I’ve done pretty well, notwithstanding a sore-foot interruption over the last few days. Solid run on Oct. 14, but then on the next Saturday I felt as quick as I have for quite a while, getting in a sub-7 and the next day found me doing 2 laps of Twin Lakes in the afternoon after working at the Yonkers Marathon and having a band rehearsal and those laps were fast, with a 24:19, again with a sub-7. I elected to only do the two laps as I was going at a quite solid tempo and decided to try to hold it to the end.

A good run on Tuesday, but Thursday’s ended after about 3 when I felt a pain in my left foot. It reappeared on lap 7 on the track on Friday, so I took Saturday off. Today, though, I decided to give it a go, thinking I’d push through if necessary. Twin Lakes yet again and when the foot did not bother me, I soldiered on. At first I’d have been happy with two laps, which I passed in 25:20, but decided to go to 30 and then to 32 and then, what the hell, lets do three laps. My left achilles ached a bit on the third lap, but it was not a major issue and I finished in 37:25, feeling relaxed and not under strain (unlike last Sunday when I felt and pushed through a good type of strain, of running hard and fast).

So, there we have it. Progress appears to be being made. And the dreaded dead-leg syndrome not an issue.

I also re-recorded “Gotta Go to New York”, I like it.

