Today’s run was the best I’ve had in ages. It did not start out that way.

On most of my runs-from-home, I head to Route 22 and down Locust Lane past the Bronxville Field Club and into Bronxville, hitting the one-mile mark a bit before hitting the library. When I can get that far, I’ll head through the village to the Bronx River Parkway and do an out-and-back totaling 5, 6, 10 or more. Well I haven’t been able to get that far in a while. But, as I say, today was my best run for a while. A bit over 3. Which is progress.

It didn’t start out that way. It was a bit chilly but very humid after overnight rain. As I hit Route 22 and headed north I felt horrible and I think I managed to get to the half-mile point only because Locust starts as a slight decline. By the time I hit Pondfield, though, also a slight descent I began to feel relaxed and my thighs did not feel like the tree trunks they’ve felt like of late. So I decided to push on and go nearly to the train station and did a loop before heading back (now slightly up) Pondfield and then (slightly up) Locust. I didn’t die. I felf kinda, sorta relaxed and added about .25 to the end.

We’ll see.

