It appears that my shoulder issue actually dates back to 2000. Way back then, I tripped and landed on my left shoulder. Initially, I was in a sling. About four years later, I felt pain when I lay down on my left side. An MRI showed a torn labrum, from the fall. So arthroscopic surgery and it was good. So I didn’t assciate my recent pain with that ancient event. But my ortho did, and said that they’ve learned it is a not uncommon injury that follows well after the initial impact. It’s a strained bicep.

So I was ordered to minimize the front-to-back movement of my left arm plus lots of Alleve. On Tuesday, I was given the OK to run and see what happens. If it continues to be an issue, he would go with cortisone. (Both of the orthos I’ve had do not like to go that route unless absolutely necessary.)

So I drove down this morning to the Bronxville track with much trepidation. I awoke early likely because of it.

I was able to do two laps, at which point I died. Actually, I was pretty dead from about 200 meters, but I soldiered on. After stopping, I jogged another lap. I think the shoulder was OK. A slight “feeling” there, but not pain and I don’t know the extent to which that was nerves.

Perhaps a bit more tomorrow.

