Sunday Morning Racing Blues

Gm Blues: Gm, D7, Gm, Gm,  Cm, Cm, Gm, Gm, Cm, D7, Gm, D7

It’s nearly seven and I can’t find my racing shoes.
I should’ve taken them out, I can’t find my racing shoes.
I really need to calm down.
I’ve got the Sunday morning racing blues.

Deep breath, I’ve got everything, time to head into town.
Ready as I’ll ever be, time to head into town.
I’ve been doing this a long time.
Yet each race I get so tightly wound.

Check bag, pin number, do some jogging and I’m good.
I’ve made it here, things taken care of, and I’m good.
Get to the start line.
Try to line up where I should.

A little bit of a wait now, try not to lose adrenaline.
Feel excitement fading, try to keep the adrenaline.
You just have to trust yourself.
And the shape that you are in.

Finally the horn goes, bit of jostling left and right.
Now people are moving, bit of jostling left and right.
I need to keep my composure.
Not let the leaders get out of sight.

Suddenly it’s Cat Hill then float through mile one.
Wave to the cat and then float through mile one.
Time to check and collect myself.
This race’s only just begun.

Starting to get tough, three to go and running fast.
Opening juice gone, three to go and running fast.
Breathing harder, quads streaming.
I swear this race will be my last.

Heading to the transverse, 2 mile water stop coming up.
Left on the transverse, 2 mile water stop coming up.
Douse myself with the first, drink the second cup.

Turn left on the West Drive, and starting to feel the pain.
This is where it all matters, starting to feel the pain.
I just want to stop and not do any of this again.

Somehow I drag my bones and get through the third mile.
Over those little hills and somehow through the third mile.
Although it’s mostly downhill, the final stretch will take a while.

Finally the last left turn and the finish comes into view.
Around that Webster statue and the finish comes into view.
Pick it up a little bit, to gain a second or two.

Through the finish and all I want to do is stop.
Please Mr. Marshall just give me a moment and let me stop.
Keep on moving they tell me, which I should do or I might drop.

Every time I do this I hate it hate it hate and vow not to come back.
It’s like this every time, I swear I won’t be back.
Now that it’s over I want to shave a few seconds, see you Tuesday on the track.

