I’ve never thought much about the Boston Marathon. There are friends who’ve striven to obtain a Boston Qualifier and who have basked in the thrill of heading up to run the race when they did. I’ve thought that was cool and a great thing for running. Beyond that, it was a spring marathon on an unusual, point-to-point course. Give me NYC.

I’ve disowned marathons now so I did not expect to have many further thoughts on Boston.

I was wrong. On both the having-further-thoughts and on the mundaneness-of-Boston fronts.

The former is self-evident. It led to the latter. From Steve Lastoe’s pre-race posts about how thrilled he was to be part of something special to the outpouring of post-explosion emotion. I love the NYC Marathon. But it’s just another big-city marathon. Like London, Chicago.

I think it a combination of history, tradition, and the idea of a BQ. For whatever reason, Boston is special. I don’t know, don’t think, that this was intended as an attack on the running community per se as opposed to a target-of-opportunity. although it of course was an attack on us as runners, as Sham eloquently notes, and an attack on us [full stop].

As runners, then, we all have a bit of Boston-DNA embedded in us, whether we knew it or not.

We had a discussion about this on a New York Running Show episode recorded Wednesday night.

