I was in court in Jamaica yesterday. I parked a few blocks from the courthouse, on the northern edge of a park. When I returned, I wandered in, to Rufus King Park. (Named for Rufus King, who served as an senator from New York and, from 1976 to 1803 and from 1825 to 1826, as American ambassador to the Court of St. James’s. He also ran for President as the Federalist candidate in 1816, losing to James Monroe. The Park is on property owned by King. His home is a museum.)

There were a couple of guys kicking a soccer ball back and forth on the central oval field, which proved to be artificial, which put in mind a recent movie I recently saw on NetFlix, “Pelada“, about a guy and girl who go to several continents filming and getting into pick-up games of soccer.

I shot this. It was windy, so there’s a fair amount of noise. But quite the nice oasis in the Big City:

