Before getting to Part II, I must clarify/correct what I posted yesterday regarding the UPS trucks. In the comments, Lara noted that she would follow-up on the Facebook page. I have added a section on that to the original post.

I also referred to a third issue. I’m holding off on that until I get some clarification on something.

[Since I initially posted this, I was told (see above) that it was not a general email. Nor did I get a reply to my email. I updated the FB thread.]

Turning to the second part, this one is easy to post since I put something up on LetsRun: “NYRR Now Selling Spots At ‘The Front of The Starting Line’ of races”. I touched on this issue after this year’s Healthy Kidney 10K, in “Safety Last“. Now NYRR is selling spots on the starting line. Details in that LetsRun thread.

The follow-up I posted refers to an old joke, which probably did not originate with Churchill but here’s his version:

Churchill: Madam, would you sleep with me for five million pounds?

Socialite: My goodness, Mr. Churchill… Well, I suppose… we would have to discuss terms, of course…

Churchill: Would you sleep with me for five pounds?

Socialite: Mr. Churchill, what kind of woman do you think I am?!

Churchill: Madam, we’ve already established that. Now we are haggling about the price.

Is there any other evidence we need that NYRR has turned away from its origins and, as I said in my prior post, “has left its roots as an organization dedicated to putting on quality races for people who race them far behind”.

