The year’s second club race was on tap for today. It’s the third time I’ve run it, it being the Scotland 10K. Clockwise loop. Finish by Tavern. Not much to report here. I ran as hard as I could, ended up stopping for about 15 seconds at 3.5, then soldiered on through the finish. 38:44 (81.8 age-graded, 10th age-group). I was third for the team, after a super effort by Jim and a quality first-race-in-ten-months effort by Jonathan.

Not that surprised. My tempo paces are markedly slower than they were just a few years back so it follows that this translates into a slower over-all pace. My last 10Ks in Central Park (all but Kleinerman were today’s course):

Afterward, a group of us from the New York Running Show got together. TK made the reservations at a place near where I lived during my NYC-period. In addition to her, we had Steve, the aforementioned Jonathan, Julie (who PRed from a self-described “admittedly soft 10K PR”), and Brenn, with his wife Sarah and baby Oscar. Brenn passed me in the race, flying by before 4 and beating me by about a minute over the last 2+ miles (although this was more because of his picking it up than my slowing down). Nice circular table. Strong coffee. Good company.

