Bunch of things floating around.

Jaymee Marty:

I’m happy to read Major Marty’s post. She had threatened to stop blogging when she got her OT. She’s relented, though, is taking us on a newer, different journey. There are those of us who’ll be pleased that she is turning her back on becoming a serial marathoner and enjoying the pleasures of shorter races, and the benefits that training for shorter races can ultimately have on one’s marathoning. (From her post, you’ll see how Jaymee earned a spot on the U.S. Armed Forces team at the Athens Marathon. From her Chicago post, you’ll see how see caught, ran with, and left Joanie Benoit. The photo has them meeting again.) [Edited to add: Jaymee ran Athens in 2:58:46, finishing second in the 40-44 Age-Group. On Facebook she described it as “the toughest course I’ve ever run.” As that Nike ad with Joanie says, “Way to go Jaymee.”]

Ritz:

Speaking of marathons, Ritz has a nice pre-NYCM interview in which he discusses how “naïve and arrogant” he was in his first marathon, NYC 2006 (he still beat me):

    I took some bruises that first time in 2006. I learned the hard lessons that a lot of people learn at some point in their marathon careers. I completely ran out of gas, just ran out of fuel. The body only has a certain amount of energy in it, and I basically didn’t take in enough. Luckily I haven’t had to deal with that again. I never thought I would have so much trouble running 6:30 pace for a mile. That’s my easy-run pace. It was a struggle just to make it to the finish line. I think I was probably a little-bit naïve and arrogant to think about what it took to run a good marathon. It doesn’t sound hard to run just under five-minute miles but it is a lot harder than I thought it was originally.

I don’t think he sounds arrogant. While it might to some seem so to speak of how easy he expected to be able to hold sub-fives, whatever your level is, there’s always the thought that “I can run 2 hours easy at X so how hard can it be to do a marathon at that pace.” I think he has good insights for all of us. The marathon is different in kind from shorter races.

The Marathon:

The marathon’s a week away. (Weather forecast: Not bad.) I really have no idea what’ll happen. Last week Frank Colella said, you can run an HM. Just do that and then do another. Thanks Frank. I took a look at the map, and realized that the Green start, goes right past the house where my aunt and cousins lived and a block from my grandparents’ house where we went as kids.

Plus there’s a cool marathon video of the course. Enough to get one pumped, no matter what happens. I’m glad that NYRR has the local competitive program. Run a certain time (it varies by age) and be a member of a club and you start at the front of the lower level and have your own pre-race area. It’s also a chance to see lots of friends on different teams before the race.

Someone asked whether it was OK for a brother to hop onto the course for a mile (the most the brother could do given the runner’s speed). I was not among the asked, so did not respond, but I saw it and thought, as I had with the Paula Radcliffe circus, that, no, it’s not all right. I know others said it was no big deal, but I figure a race is a race and it’s also disrespectful of others to do it; I know I’d be pissed if someone ran out to run with someone near me. I realize that it’s not a big deal in the wider realm of things, but there it is.

I take a look at the ING NYC Marathon Facebook page. It seems that everyone is freaking out. And a good chunk of folks have had injuries in the past week or so, hoping that they’ll be phantom ones (as my groin strain was in 2006). No matter what people’s goals are, they’re all nervous about it.

Eddie Hellebuyck:

If you frequent LetsRun, you’ll have periodically seen stuff on a runner named Eddie Hellebuyck (or “Eddie H.”). He was busted for EPO use after he was a master but denied, denied, denied. Until now. There’s a fine article by John Brant in Runner’s World, “The Confessions of Eddie Hellebuyck.” (An LRC thread I started.) It sheds light on drugs and running. It reminds me of RoJo’s interview with Craig Virgin, who was a contemporary of mine, at the end of which Virgin admits that he was lucky to be over with the sport as an athlete before the temptations of drugs appeared and forced athletes to decide whether to cheat or to lose.

TK and JT:

Since most of my readers also view her blog, I haven’t posted about TK’s recent accident. It was a car accident in which she was physically unhurt. I’d be remiss in not pointing to it, though, as, (a) a dramatic event involving a fellow runner and friend and, (b) an object lesson in the vagaries of life. It also says something about the usefulness of social media; she tweeted “I’m OK. Flipped my Car” or some such and then posted a picture of her flipped car. And she promptly received outpourings of relief, and support. (It does mystify me though when people are “following” hundreds of people (and do they need to be known as “peeps” or “tweeps”?).)

As with TK, JT’s posts are ones about which I have nothing to say except “Just Read Them.” She’ll be with me, and Steve Lastoe, on Tuesday night for our initial NY Running show.

