July 11, 2010

Today was not as warm as it has been. But it was quite humid. I left home around 7 for a run at Twin Lakes/Nature Study. It was so peaceful when I got there (I drove) that I did a quick shot, without voice-over. It’s below. I came upon a fair number of runners, for so early, and, quite dripping with sweat (and with a half-way water stop (you see the water bottle on my car’s trunk)), I got in a bit over an hour.

I am trying quite hard to keep the pace JSian, i.e., easy and relaxed, and I use my Garmin to help, although it was a bit quicker than I would have wanted. But I must admit that this recent difficulty I’ve had with longish runs is putting my marathon plans further and further into doubt. I am planning, though, on taking John Kellogg’s advice and regularly getting speedwork in.

For Beginners

In that Kellogg post, I mentioned that I took umbrage at a 3-great-workouts post. Steve of NYCRuns, where that post (not by Steve) was posted took umbrage at my umbrage. He pointed out that it was a post aimed at beginners, not at an old fart (my phrase) like me. If you’re so smart, he implied, why don’t you try to write something. (He did not say this; he’s too polite for that.) So I am taking a stab. It’s hard. I keep falling down rabbit-holes. Am I saying too much? Too little? What do I know about this stuff?

I’m trying to keep it simple. One point I make is not to worry much about form. If you try to relax, your form should take care of itself. Keep arms relaxed, don’t worry about how your feet land. Don’t spend a lot on shoes, and try different brands to find one with which you’re comfortable. That sort of thing. I’ll try to get it finished in the next few days. In the meantime, any suggestions are welcome. (As an aside, I’ve run into the forefoot-landing-is-natural/more-efficient meme twice this week. It’s like a bad penny that keeps turning up.)

Tri Runs

I also mentioned a bit ago that the race winner’s time (Craig Alexander, who’s won Kona) at the Boise 70.3 in the HM was a pedestrian 1:21:02. I have since been directed to a number of triathletes whose times are not so slow. Andy Potts was mentioned, who did a 1:07 in a 70.3 recently. There are other fast guys (plus fast men and women doing Olympic-distance tris). I don’t know what that means, except it belies the IM-triathletes are slow suggestion.

Twin Lakes

