Why 2.5 miles? For many years, there was a 5 miler and a 2.5 miler, the former being a two-lapper, the latter a one. At some point they gave up on the five so now it’s just the 2.5. I ran the five once, in 1999. It didn’t go well, as I recall, and I was fourth. Third was pushing one of those running baby carriages.

The 2.5 isn’t bad though. The start is a bit over a mile from home, so I jogged/walked into town. Picking up my number, I saw my orthopedist PR, whose wife is the race-director. “Peter,” I said, “other runners see doctors and get faster. I see you and am going more slowly. What kind of a doctor are you?” To which he replied, “I’m no miracle worker.” Ouch. He had two sons in the race. (His daughter is one of the top girls at the high school, but they had a state-qualifying meet today.) Telling them that I was the one to beat, I let them know that if I did beat them it was because their dad fixed my elbow.

I met BH, who in fact looks nothing like Mark Messier and who was running the race with his daughter. Not running with his daughter was Dave. He too runs for Warren Street and I ran with him a couple of weeks back. (JT, he was the guy I saw when I was chatting with you a couple of weeks back.) At the line I saw Tom P, who runs for CPTC and is a year older than I am (and his daughter is also one of B’ville’s top girls).

The Course

Bronxville 2.5 MilerThe Course is one with which I am quite familiar. The first stretch is on my standard run and I’ve run the other portions far too many times to count. It goes briefly into my hometown of Tuckahoe, and passes (at its northernmost tip and albeit at the bottom of a hill and through some woods) about 100 yards from where I grew up. The first mile is tough, with one short-but-sharp up, and as several pointed out afterward the downs are not great because they are pretty steep. The final half is pretty flat though, finishing on the track. This year they used the D-tag, which is rather unusual for a local race.

The Race

Also unusual for a local race is the kid-participation factor. I would say that half the field consists of grade schoolers, many of whom decide to start on the front line and sprint out before quickly dying. After the horn five or six large people, i.e., adults, found themselves intermixed with little people, but the latter were gone by the half-mile mark. At about one-and-a-half, though, I heard a lot of cheering for “Joe” and I knew it wasn’t for me. Then I heard someone shout, “First Kid.” Great, just stick a fork in me. I was going hard, though, and he — the aforementioned Joe — was left in my dust. truth be told, though, I have been kidded before.

I was closing in on Tom, and Dave was a bit ahead. Tom, though, was picking it up in the final half, as was I, and Dave was in a duel of his own up the road. Tom would finish five seconds up on me and Dave was a bit ahead of him, having lost his duel. My Garmin gives me splits of 6:13, 5:47, 5:43 (pace), but I think it was a bit short, i.e., it has me running through yards instead of on the road. The one-mile split per the course marking was 6:01.

Post-Race

There were some 400 finishers and the race raised over $10,000 for the James E. Kearney Memorial Fund. Having spoken to a few people before the race, I had a good time talking to some after.

As to my race, I ran hard, I ran as fast as I could. Again, works needs to be done. Speed won’t be for a while, though, since I’m thinking of the Fall now. Just build the miles, get the speed where I can, and enjoy.

Here’s some short raw pre-race footage, showing the start in front of the high school.

Group Run

I’ll put something up on this eventually, but I should note that Bronxville Running Company has a group run starting from its store at 7 on Wednesdays. I did it this past week. The GNY guy who whipped me at the Loucks 5K? That would be Bobby, and he works at the store part-time and leads the run, so no worries about it being too slow. We were alone for the final two last week, and I ended up red-lining it most of the way. There’s generally another person from the store who acts as a sweeper, and all paces are welcome. The key is to get a critical mass of people. There are so many serious runners around — I see them all the time — that if we could get a few more to come out it would be a great community resource.

Full disclosure: I get nothing for this suggestion. I’m not averse to getting something, but I don’t. I’d tell you if I did. (The only actual product that I’ve endorsed/promoted is the RoadID. I gave Dave a hard time for not wearing his at today’s race; he assured me that he always wears it when cycling. I get nothing from those folks. I see products mentioned on other sites but I like Ari’s full-disclosure approach.)

