After Thursday’s race, I went back and forth on whether to do the Loucks 5K road race this morning, but since I’m writing this it appears that I did. It’s a nice little race with an overall down, including right at the start, that uniquely as far as I know draws a bunch of high schoolers. This year was no exception.

An 8am start before the track meet began at 9, we headed out on the streets near White Plains High School. I’d done the race twice before. At the start, a bunch of high schoolers went out fast, but while I passed many of them early, a large number stayed ahead and ran consistently throughout. They, in turn, were still well behind a Greater New York guy who won with a 15 and change, followed by another “adult.”

For me, I tried to run as consistently and smoothly as possible. Although I was never in great distress, it was hard. For unknown reasons, 5Ks have always been slower than other races for me, based upon race-time equivalencies. What can I say?

The final 500 meters of the race are on the track, which you get to after another downhill. Not much to say about that, except that one of the HSers who I passed at around 2.5 went shooting past me with 300 to go. He slowed and as I neared him, he took off again. Not the greatest race-management there. I figure I was the third adult.

I finished in 18:14. I don’t know whether I could have gone much faster. Although I felt a sciatic twinge in the first mile, it went away, so I think I’ll be able to handle some track tempos even if I can’t do faster stuff. It’s a bit demoralizing to be slowing down so much. Yet all I can do is my best so as long as I feel that I am — and I felt it today and Thursday — that’s all I can expect.

I spoke after Thursday’s race with Jay, who turns 50 in a few months. I’ve beaten him a few times, he’s beaten me more. He’s having motivation issues. I told him that once he gets over the hump, once he accepts that he’s going to consistently be beaten by guys running what were his old easy-run paces, he’ll gain a new perspective. He’s a good guy and a good runner.

After the race, high schoolers were warming up for the first race, the 4 X 8. I enjoyed watching these kids in their team color warm-ups doing strides and drills and just projecting a whole lot of swagger. I guess we were like that too, and perhaps still are as we prance about in our uniforms before the start of a race.

Next Saturday will be a bit tougher, the Healthy-Kidney 10K in Central Park. A club race. Same course as the Scotland Run.

