I ran into JT this morning at the Bronxville Track. She was doing 1000s, I did a 10-lap tempo. We chatted briefly, and she inquired about the Masters Mile that I mentioned recently, and on my races-I-might-do list. It is at White Plains HS at the end of the first day (early Thursday evening) of competition in the Loucks Games, a long-time major north-east HS track meet. (How times have changed; the track was cinder when I first ran this meet.) I told her to come run it. If people want info, just drop me a line or comment.

She expressed concern about how she would do, mentioning a friend who’s done a couple of Armory races. I reminded her of my DFL post of almost exactly one-year ago. It still rings true, about racing on the track:

    I tend to end up at the back of the pack in whatever the race is. The leaders disappear into the distance and in a 3000 I start worrying about being lapped. On a 400 meter track. I feel so slow. And to many I am so slow.

    I enjoy it, however, because I set simple goals for myself. My competitive juices flow as I get near enough to the finish to have confidence that a bit of kick won’t leave me short of the line. But I’m just struggling for myself, as are most of those out there. But struggle I do, as you can see from this photo from Sue Pearsal’s site (taken by Armando), as I try to cross the finish of a mile in barely under 5.

So, I told her, I plan on that race and a couple of either 1500s or 3000s at Icahn. (NYRR was thinking of stopping that meet a few years back but a number of us wrote about how important it is and they’ve kept it up.) A great change of pace. And a rite of spring. Coincidentally, someone made a comment, to a somewhat overwrought post, about the utility of racing on the track here (comment 7) (and also coincidentally after my comment).

