My friend from last week thought better, apparently, of a repeat of his performance of last Saturday and he remained absent from my jaunt around Central Park this morning. And a beautiful morning it was, temp in the high 30s/low 40s, a fair number of people running in shorts, albeit with reddened legs.

As for me, tights were the order of the day. There were but four this week, Paul, Fabio, Robbie, and your correspondent. Wondering chiefly on the bridle path, in fine condition. Lots of people going lots of paces. 1:34:10. Longest in who knows how long. And struggled the final 10 blocks, alone, from Central to Marcus Garvey Park, where I parked. 20 minutes in, 20 minutes out.

When I ran for Sound Shore, we had a regular Saturday morning 5.5 miler. Took me about 20 minutes to get there too; much closer, but no highways. Now I’m the guy holding on at the end, longing for the turn-around point on the bridle path at its southern end.

So a good stretch of running this week, very good in one respect. Yesterday’s was nice and easy. But Wednesday’s and Thursday’s were unusual in that in both cases, I simply decided as I approached home to add on another five minutes or so. So Wednesday was 55 minutes and Thursday and even hour. On Thursday, I wore my Garmin for the first time in quite a while, and the pace was where it should be, not too fast.

I should note, returning to today’s run, that it is a weekly Warren Street get-together (and Paul regularly heads to the Rockies on Sundays). It picks up folks at 5th and 90th at 9 am. Anyone interested can drop me a line. Club dues, by the way, are $0. Annually.

