In running news, I had a slight relapse with my IT Band so I’m taking it easy. Before you say anything, JT, I attribute it to having gotten lax on my exercises, so I’m concentrating on that now. But I had 5 on Saturday without a problem. Unfortunately, with the snow, today will be on the treadmill. If this continues, though, I may have to get some PT (which, fortunately, will be in the new year since I blew through my allotment of PT-coverage early in 2009).

Star Trek: The Movie (spoilers aplenty)

I remember “Star Trek” when it was first on TV, and watched a good chunk of it while in college. And I enjoyed The Next Generation when it was first broadcast. I never got into the other permutations, though. Now my DVR records TNG episodes so I’m working my way through the whole series again.

I mention this because I watched the “Star Trek” movie last night. Fortunately it came from the library and so cost only $0.75 (what White Plains Library charges for holds). It was awful. As with the “Born to Run” book, though, I appear in the minority since review after review gives it a thumbs-up.

Putting aside the obnoxiousness of the young Kirk, the movie corrupted a major premise of the “Star Trek” franchise, i.e., a overarching consistency, however farflung.

Take the Joan Collins episode. Bottom line: Kirk must allow Collins to die or the Federation would never exist, allowing McCoy’s love for her to be forever unrequited. This is all part of the time-travel continuum conundrum that frequents the series (the best being Yar’s going to the Enterprise C with all sorts of consequences for later episodes). The whole premise of this movie is that something from the future has altered the past and no thought is given to the fact. Consider: Kirk’s father dies doing battle with a ship-from-the-future yet Spock (the old one) tells Kirk (the young one) that his father saw him (Kirk) become captain of the Enterprise.

Now it may be that this will be cleaned up in the future. But it ends with the familiar “To Boldly Go Where No One Has Gone Before” (PCed from the “Man” of the original series) spoken by Nimoy’s Spock.

Then there’s the whole chain-of-command issue. Captain Pike (yes, him from the pilot) is captured by the renegade Romulan and Spock, as the First Officer, takes over. Kirk (the young) gets Spock to be emotional (albeit without using the word “half-breed” (which would have been a clever reference to TOS (the original series))) and give up command to . . . Cadet Kirk. Now Spock gives up command to Kirk because Spock’s mother was killed by the renegade Romulan who also killed Kirk’s father. Not to Sulu, not to Chekov, not to any, you know, officer on the Enterprise. To Kirk. Nor to cadet Uhura who turns out not only to be a brilliant linguist but also the younger Spock’s lover. [Correction: Hendy Irawan, in the comments, corrected me. In fact, after Pike names Spock acting captain he “promotes” Kirk to first officer (which Spock initially treats as a “joke”). I don’t think this makes much of a difference. The notion of Kirk, a cadet, becoming captain of the Enterprise (here or at the end of the movie) is absurd. From TNG we know that there is a whole process (or at least there would be) for someone to qualify as a “bridge officer.” And there is a whole process for promotions, however encased in seniority it might be. That hierarchy is one of the binding elements of TNG, i.e., there are rules and a structure.]

Now this occurs after Spock had attempted to maroon Kirk — “get him off my ship” — by shooting him to a planet with a hostile environment near Vulcan. Where he just happens to meet Spock the old and Scotty, who happens to be a brilliant physicist. I can handle such “coincidences” by the way to advance the plot so I don’t fault the script for that.

Kirk saves the day, with Spock (the older) helping. And for having saved the day he goes from Cadet-being-disciplined-for-cheating to captain of the Enterprise, taking command from the now wheelchair-bound Pike. Of course, since this was the maiden voyage of the Entreprise, how did the events of the pilot with Capt. Pike occur since this was Pike’s only mission on the Enterprise?

Awful, just awful.

