You’d be forgiven if, seeing me walk, you’d think me an invalid. Over the past few months, I find myself increasingly hobbled by stiffness and aches. Yet, although it takes me longer to loosen up, this trouble doesn’t seem to be affecting my running.

It reminds me of the scene in “Butch Cassidy” when Butch and Sundance are trying to get a job in Bolivia guarding money from a mine. The “boss” asks Sundance if he can shoot, and Sundance asks if he can move. The boss says “no.” Sundance misses. He then turns around quickly and as he does so hits the coin in the distance a few times, saying, “I do better when I move.”

Yesterday after an at times lumbering warm-up, I was able to do a 5 X 1000 interval workout after hobbling around all day. But this is making me a bit nervous.

LetsRun is frequently the home for Running-After-50 threads, to which I obligingly contribute. Today we have “50 and Slowing – Masters / Seniors Input Please” [link fixed, per Ewen] and “50 year old trying to run 4:30. Help!” (that’s for the mile BTW). One posted a link to a column in the Wall Street Journal, “Older, Wiser, Slower After 50: Avid Athletes Find That to Stay Healthy, They Must Let Go of the Need to Win.” It is perhaps the most idiotic thing I’ve seen in a while (on a par with last Spring’s Boston-is-downhill-so-it’s-easy column). The least of its inanities is describing someone as long engaged in “elite-level distance running, including a 2:46:34 Boston.” (Christopher McDougall also repeats the idea that BQ=elite.)

I won’t belabor the point as I’ve frequently noted the inevitable slowing that occurs and that because one is slower than she was doesn’t mean she must hang up the spikes and simply walk about the neighborhood. And it bears mentioning that a recent study suggests that running is good for the knees.

