A bit ago I had a post about David Goggins, a Navy SEAL who does amazing stuff to raise money for kids of mothers and fathers killed in action, the Special Operations Warrior Fund. I noted that he had to undergo emergency surgery for a hole-in-the-heart, that he’s had since birth.

Bob Babbit of The Competitors Radio Show recently did a follow-up interview with the convalescing Goggins. Another great job, and well worth a listen.

Goggins says he’s never enjoyed a step of his running. Let’s hope with a fixed heart he’ll start to.

Unfortunately, Goggins reports that the May 14 surgery was not entirely successful, and he has been to the ER several times since. The docs hope that the heart will grow over the small hole that remains; “only time will tell.”
In a contemplative mood, he writes:

… What good does all of this actually do. What does running ultra’s, biking, lifting, ect. What does it do for you? Where does it get you?

For me, the answer is this. It’s not about what you do in life. It is about what you don’t do. The truth is running has not got me anywhere in life. I don’t enjoy it. I hate it really. It certainly hasn’t made an income for my family. And it definitely takes up a lot of my spare time. So why do it then? Because I can. When I was running 100 mile races back to back weekends, people never understood. They thought I was crazy. They told me how injured I was going to get. But I didn’t care. I still don’t. Tomorrow is never promised to you. If I looked back on those times now and didn’t do the Plain 100 because it was to soon after my other race, I would kick myself. Now I can look back and say. I’m glad that I did what I did when I could.
I am not saying that this is how everybody should be. What I am saying is that I believe everybody should push themselves to there limit. Whether it be in life or in sport. If not, you will wake up one day and your limits will have been determined by other factors. Health, family, work, ect. Why you have it in your power to do something, do it. Don’t wait until that opportunity gets taken from you. I know I’m not. I hope to see you somewhere on the road in June 2010.

I don’t endorse what he does. I have other objectives with my running. I don’t think of doing Ultras and I don’t think of doing marathon-after-marathon. But I agree with his core sentiment. As an old guy, I’m particularly fond of the “better to burn out than to fade away” principle:

