After my recent post on changes (possibly) afoot at the Rockies, a flurry of emails in addition to the comments posted ensued. To summarize, I got wind of the possibility that a portion of the Rockies would be off-limits to runners on parts of the week-end and I said I didn’t understand the need for it. In the storm that gathered afterwards, I heard from a number of people who counseled patience to see what the ultimate proposal would entail. I heard from others who are concerned that the restrictions are targeted at runners and only at runners and that it is part of a broader attempt to limit and potentially eliminate running for all or significant parts of the Park, notwithstanding that runners are a major constituency and a major the Park is what it is today.

I happened to be up there yesterday and spoke to a friend at the Sleepy Hollow HS parking lot, who said, in essence, “it’s their park, so we have to be careful about how we deal with them.” Separately, someone said that there’s been an effort to bring the various constituencies of the Park — runners, walkers, horsemen — together for an event in late June, at which a shared appreciation for our various perspectives might be furthered.

I find it heartening to see the degree to which those who are involved are committed to the Park.

One of my points was that I see no reason why those perspectives need be in conflict, as long as each group doesn’t think it’s the only one up there. (Hence the St. Peter reference.)

Which brings me to the photo on the right. It is from September 30, 1938, and British Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain is waving a document signed by Hitler and Mussolini ceding part of Czechoslovakia to Germany, assuring, Chamberlain said when he returned to Britain, “peace for our time.”

To the sentiment that conceding anything to the Rockies is appeasement and that the Park administration will, I guess, end up invading Poland is overwrought. There’s no line in the trail to be drawn. I don’t agree that “it’s their Park,” since it’s ours, so I don’t think we should accept whatever dictates are instituted and ask for another. But I doubt that that’s the agenda. Why even negotiate Swan Lake closure times if “they” want to keep runners off? Why allow new races, a 5K last fall, a 10K this summer?

No, I don’t see it as appeasement. I would like to know, however, what are the complaints being lodged? Is it large bands of HSers (although a limit on week-ends wouldn’t seem to have much of an impact on them)? Must access to the water and bathrooms be cut-off (although I hear there may be an alternative spot nearby)? I’m late to this game, and only speak for myself, so it may be that this has been discussed. I just don’t know.

Oh, and the Edward G. Robinson reference:
No, it’s not the end of the Rockies.

