Well, I did head down to the Bronxville track yesterday morning and got in my Repeats. 200, 200, 400, full-length jog between.

  • 38.8, 42.3, 82.2
  • 39.6, 40.0, 81.4
  • 40.5, 39.8, 82.2
  • 40.2, 40.6, 81.7

The running was pretty relaxed, although it takes some getting used to the 400s.

But more, I wanted to post separately CG’s comment to that post and respond because I think she makes good points (I admit some typos.) She writes,

“i had to read your intro ¶ a few times to comprehend- i’m sure it’s just that i’m slow (mentally, too), and it wasn’t the grammatical errors, as i’m a neophyte there.

“i’ve wondered if it’s your ego that’s kept you out of much speed training and racing in the past few years. you’ve said you’ve had this-that-and-the-other issues, but i wonder if it’s just the fear of not running the times you used to that’s kept you away. when i was out on the track earlier today, i thought that someone like you, who (to your credit) has had very consistent race performances in the past might be intimidated when he shows up to a track workout and can no longer perform (even alone).

“it makes someone like you more like “one of us”. there a number of guys (and women) in your age group who run around your current race times out here on the island. but one thing i’ve noticed is that they deal with frequent ‘sub-par’ performances and ‘glorified training runs’ as part of a larger goal.

“the one thing that came to me as i putzed around the track this evening was that if you stop racing, you will hasten your decline even further (this is actually not a new “epiphany” for me- just something i re-acknowledge, as married folks re-acknowledge why they love their spouses). age is not working in your favor. that goes for the dilettantes such as myself, as well as the “racers” such as you.

“i would put to you, “what are your racing goals?” if it’s to run longer races, then adopt that sort of plan. if shorter (and that’s what i would pursue in your position), then adopt a more speed-focused one. running daniels’ paces for track workouts may cut it for longer stuff. even if that’s your goal, i’d say run your track workouts with other guys b/c i’ve noticed over the past few years that you have a tough time completing your projected workouts. i’m not sure there’s a one where you got through the whole thing. that said, maybe you should meet up w/guys like mark t who are around your pace now and could push you to complete the sets.

“but if your goal is to set some westchester 50+ records, you’d best work a bit harder. focus on the mile or another middle distance event. do the speed training for that. it’s another level than daniels and may help you at longer stuff eventually. find some guys to push you on the track. keep up a weekly, but slow, longerish run.

“my two. slow. cents.”

Ego plays a role. But I don’t know that it’s kept me from training. In fact ego may be preventing me from racing as much as I might for fear of falling short of my expectations. So I may make excuses for not doing the work and then justify not racing on the ground that I haven’t done the work. She’s right that the more I think along those lines and the more comfortable I am with just sleeping in the faster the decline.

In my defense, my work situation is such that I don’t often get the chance to run afterward. But cutting against that is that there’s no reason I can’t get up earlier than I do and run before. In the latter stages of winter, I got better at that, often heading down to the treadmill for 30 or 40 minutes.

She’s surely right that I need to decide what racing goals I have as that demands decisions on what need to be done to reach them. She’s probably right on the substance that I might do better focusing on shorter stuff, 5Ks and 10Ks and the like. As a practical matter, that makes sense since there are more of them than HMs around (and I expect to do the Loucks 5K in a couple of weeks).

When I spoke of Sound Shore, I noted that coaching was an excuse for structuring my own training, a win/win. (And I know there are those who took exception to my approach.) The Repeats yesterday were part of doing that, i.e., looking at where things stood and trying to specifically address them.

She’s right that it would be good to join with others for speed work, but that’s just not practical. I disagree about Daniels if only because his approach is useful for any racing distance. It’s just the types of workouts and the frequency of various types that vary. But, yes, if my goal is 5Ks and 10Ks and the like, a greater dosage of the faster types of training (Repeats and Intervals) over the slower types (Tempos) is in order.

 All-in-all, quite helpful. I’m feeling more comfortable about finding my Goldilocks LR pace and can mix that up with the harder (for me) runs I do with Warren Street or at the Rockies. mix in some serious speed work. To be clear, I don’t view speed work as a miracle cure in isolation. I view it in the context of the disconnect between the speed I can maintain in a long run and the speed I can achieve in a race (albeit using only the single data-point of the recent 15K). It may be for naught. And injuries may lay me low. We shall see.

