While here in New York the snow was unavoidable, people were able to go through February, albeit a short month, without a post here.

I had a nice run this morning, Saturday. Temp in the mid 20s (F) and sunny. Cold enough to keep a wool cap on, tights, long-sleeve. Sunblock and sunglasses. I’ve taken in this cold weather to seeking out quiet areas. I’ve done a couple of runs with a half-mile (or so) loop run 7 times (plus running there and back) and last Saturday was uber-dangerous as there was black ice all over the place and after a near disaster, I meekly headed home. Today saw a couple of loops of a longer stretch, just a block off the busy north-south road that cuts through Bronxville.

Relaxed pace, yelling at myself to keep the eye on the bigger picture, avoiding hammering that has me gasping at the end and struggling to finish. It’s amazing how slowing just a tiny bit can make such a difference, Micawber-like.

My objective is the Scarsdale 15K, on April 6. I’ve run it a few times, although not for a while, and won it once. No expectations. Just putting on a number on a race that’s neither too long where I struggle to finish nor too short where I struggle with too fast a pace. Maybe get some redemption after my last race. I wrote about it, wow, five years ago.

In other news, the great Paul Thompson finished second in the 45-49 AG in the USATF National Cross Champs, held in Boulder. He inspires, even an old-timer such as me.

I haven’t written about Mary Cain for a while; she’s been speaking pretty well for herself. A while back I noted the constant pressure she is under and that she doesn’t run a bad race, and that’s still the case, with a USA indoor 1500 championship last weekend. She seems to be enjoying herself, and everyone I know wishes her well.

Alas, her success inevitably has led a few to suspect she’s on some PEDs. It’s not unique to her. Indeed, it came up about another female runner (who as it happens also ran in the Worlds 1500 final last year) during a Rockies run a while back simply because of an everyone-does-it taint on all world-class runners. Unlike cycling in the post-Lemond through Armstrong era, though, I don’t think everyone one does it and I don’t think any Americans in that 1500 final do.

Specifically as to Cain, two words: No way.

 

