It’s been a month since I last posted and, well, I’ve nothing to say. Same old, same old. With a couple of hiccups, I’ve managed to string together some good runs, on the roads, on the treadmill, on the track. My goal is to be ready for the Scarsdale 15K come April. ¬†And I do hope to be in good enough shape to re-join the Warren Street boys for their Saturday morning runs. For me it’s a serious effort and I can’t hang with the group the entire distance. But it’s something to look forward to.

By contrast, when I was running with VCTC, the objective was to slow things down, and that worked, but in part because of the physical limits of where they run, I’ve been simply trying to keep it slow on my own, by finding a Goldilocks pace. Of course that’s more easily done on the treadmill.

I have been throwing inclines into treadmill work, say going up to and down from 6.0 in 0.5 increments with 1 minute each or to 8.0 with 30 seconds each. Brutal but it helps the time pass. On one of these ventures, I listened to a good podcast from Bob Babbit on Competitor Group with Bob Kennedy, an American icon in the 90s.

I was itching to just run “fast”. So to the Bronxville track I jogged this morning. A mix of folks on it, walking, running. (Because lane 4 is the closest to 400m, that’s where I was; I asked a couple of people to keep it clear and they gladly complied.) It always seems romantic. Going hard and fast. So I was to do six 800s, pace to be based on feel. Cruel shock on No. 1. These things hurt. So I down-graded to doing 4. Each a struggle but each under control and just under 3:00. I don’t know if that’s good or bad given that it wasn’t too long ago that I could do 20-minute Tempos faster than that. It was good, though, to go hard, to use the lane-markings to keep me going — only 500 to go, etc. It was a fun, almost spontaneous workout. Not yet serious, but I’ll have to become so if I want to be ready for Scarsdale.

