Labor Day. Had to cut my run this morning short when I felt a sharp pain in my left foot. I’ve been getting aches and pains in my right foot for a while. On the trail on Friday, though, there was something in the left so I stopped. No problem on Saturday doing a track session or yesterday at the Rockies. It seems to be moving around a bit, so I figure it’ll go away. I arrived at the Bronxville Running Company hoping to call home to get picked up. Alas, it was closed. Then I heard Nina, who works there, calling me as she was coming to open it. Saved! (The idea was to avoid walking the 1.5 or so miles home on the bad foot.)

This is to be a low-speed week, after multiple speed sessions the past several weeks.

A couple of interesting comments on a couple of LetsRun threads from Renato Canova, one of the top distance coaches.

In the first, he talks about the training in preparation for the World’s for his athletes, down to the specifics of individual workouts. Of most interest though was his observation that always warrants remembering,

    So, we can say that TRAINING WELL IS TRAINING HARD, BUT TRAINING HARD NOT ALWAYS IS TRAINING WELL.

    I want to change the “Train hard, win easy” of Kenyan in “Training well, win easy”. The two concepts are not exactly the same thing.

He also mentions how specific training is.

    If you go to investigate what happens inside the body, you can see that little difference in speed (for example, 2’55″ vs 2’50″ in 1000m) means A DIFFERENT TYPE OF TRAINING, since the lactate level can be very different. Because I want to use many different speeds (for example, for an athlete running 26’30″ in 10000m I need to use from speed of 56″ in 400m till speed of 3’20″ in 1000m, and this means a difference of 6″ every 100m), and I consider every speed as a SPECIFIC TYPE OF TRAINING, giving different stimula to the body and consequentely requiring different levels of supercompensation), I can’t use classic microcycles, and I can’t have fixed days for the same type of wokouts.

The other comment is on a thread discussing the fact that Ryan Hall takes one day off a week. As to Kenyans, Canova says, he doesn’t plan days off because there inevitably will be some. Kenyans accept this and don’t let it bother them.

They’ve assembled a bit of a library down at the Bronxville Running Company. I’ve contributed a few books. A Bronxville coach noticed the library and wondered why there was no Daniels. Well, I wasn’t donating my copy, and manager Bobby Papazian said he was force-fed Daniels for years and years so he’s happy not to have him around. He (Bobby) says he doesn’t like the lack of variance in Daniels, that you’re supposed to run this workout at this pace, etc. For me, I need the specificity, which is a reason I like doing stuff on the track. I get precise feed-back. Others get it via an HRM. I think that for lots of folks, though, a more flexible approach is warranted. If you buy into the specificity notion, that one pace works system X and a slightly different one works system Y, I think you need the discipline of precision. Even if some might think it the tyranny of precision.

Lots of inspiration from the World Champs, especially from the men’s and women’s 1500s and 5000s. Julie clued me into this piece from Lauren Fleshman, who finished 7th in the women’s 5000. And I was able to get in that track session on Saturday with the help of seeing Matt Centrowitz (the younger) pull a third in the men’s 1500.

I’m a Jenny Barringer Simpson fan. Here’s the women’s 1500 (with Italian commentary). I think she did well to sign with New Balance and avoid becoming just another in the Nike stable. I found this somewhat creepy but prescient video of her:

